Social Media

How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Snapchat

How do you know if someone has blocked you on Snapchat? Social media is a funny beast. Being blocked implies that a friendship is in trouble, but that’s not always the case. Nonetheless, it’s understandable if you’re concerned it is.

What happens when you block someone on Snapchat? They don’t get notified, so you don’t need to worry about that. But can they tell they’ve been blocked? If you think you have been blocked, how can you find out for sure? Here’s how to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat.

MAKEUSEOF VIDEO OF THE DAY

What’s the Difference Between Blocked and Removed on Snapchat?

What’s the difference between being blocked and removed (sometimes called “unadded”) on Snapchat? The former is more “Scorched Earth” than being unfriended, i.e. it can be reversed but is more often than not permanent. Being blocked naturally cuts off all connections, whereas being removed doesn’t.

If you have only been removed from Snapchat, you won’t be able to see stories unless they’re set to Everyone. If you’re blocked, however, nothing will appear regardless of the settings. You can’t really tell from the Discover menu though. You might have even been muted, which means they won’t see your story but you remain friends.


How to Tell if Someone Deleted You on Snapchat

The easiest way to tell whether you’ve been deleted or blocked is through the Chat function. If you can still see the person listed in your conversation, you haven’t been blocked. It could be that they’ve deleted you, but you haven’t removed them. However, this only works if you’ve spoken to them via the function recently.

You could also send them a snap; just do it as you normally would. Give it a few minutes, and if it reads “Pending” and shows a gray icon, you might have been deleted. Or maybe one or both of you doesn’t have a good enough internet connection.

Your other option is clicking on the contact’s profile. If you can see their Snapchat score, you haven’t been deleted.

Otherwise, you need to further learn how to tell if someone blocked you on Snapchat…

How to Tell if Someone Blocked You on Snapchat

You won’t be notified when someone blocks you on Snapchat, so you need to look for other signs. Don’t worry: the steps you have to follow are really simple. Here are the steps to check if someone has blocked you.

1. Can You View Recent Conversations?

As mentioned above, this is the simplest method, but doesn’t necessarily give you a definitive answer, especially if you’re feeling paranoid. And since you’re currently asking: “am I blocked on Snapchat?”, the chances are that you probably are being self-conscious.

If you’ve had a recent conversation with the person you think may have blocked you, take a look at that thread. Navigate to the Chat screen and click on the relevant thread—if it’s still available.

If not, the chat was either too long ago, or it’s a sign you’ve been blocked. It isn’t a certainty, however.

Now, you need to look for confirmation.

2. Can You Search for Them?

If you can still remember their username, that’s great. If not, you can, in most cases, use their actual name for this function.

So, how do you search for friends on Snapchat?

At the top left of the interface, you’ll see your own profile, which might display your story if you’ve added one in the previous 24 hours. Right next to this, there’s a magnifying glass icon. Click on this and search for the contact you’re worried has blocked you.

If they don’t appear, they have either blocked you or deleted their account. Or they’ve changed their Snapchat username. That’s a recent addition to the service so fewer people know it exists. You can only do it once a year, but it’s also pretty easy to do. This could be a way of avoiding people; in such a case, your best bet is to talk to them in person or on another messaging service, or ask a friend you have in common if they’ve altered their username.

3. Can Others Search for Them?

Blocking someone means they can’t find you at all. So, how can you tell if you’ve been blocked—or whether they’re no longer using Snapchat?

Your best option is to find someone else with Snapchat and ask if they can search for this contact’s username. They just need to use the same method as above.

Alternatively, you can set up a second Snapchat account. This feels like an over-the-top, perhaps even obsessive, way of finding out. The other person might also view this as stalking, so consider strongly if you want to take this step.

If they don’t appear, it’s likely they’ve deleted their own Snapchat. It’s bad news if they do appear though: they’ve blocked your other account.

Of course, if you see this person face-to-face sometime, you could casually ask whether they still use Snapchat. But you risk causing some friction if they do and they’ve blocked you.

Why Has Someone Removed You From Snapchat?

This is a difficult question, but it’s not necessarily something to worry about. There are a lot of potential reasons, though you might have to confront the idea that you’ve just drifted apart.

Firstly, it could have happened by mistake. Some friends disappear between updates or when someone changes phones; it shouldn’t happen, but does. If you think this is the case, send them a message or snap. Make sure it’s not a fault with your device.

If you’ve lost a lot of contacts from Snapchat, try re-adding those you’re closest to.

The reason might also be that you either post too often or too infrequently. Maybe your interests don’t align right now, so they’d rather not clutter up their feed with stories they’re not particularly invested in.

Perhaps they’re just busy rat the moment, and don’t want to get distracted.

Removal can, at least, be undone easily, so if it has upset you, talk to them. But don’t get too invested emotionally—it’s only Snapchat and it certainly doesn’t mean your friendship is over.

Why Has Someone Blocked You From Snapchat?

You’ll probably know the answer to this already by instinct. But if you’re seriously confused about why this has happened, it’s probably best to ask yourself whether you’ve been a nuisance. Or equally, if they’ve been a nuisance and this is just characteristic of them.

If they’re at university and have exams coming up, they might want to cut themselves off social media. That’s true if they’ve got job interviews soon as well. There are lots of reasons life can intrude on things like Snapchat. It’s all about perspective.


We all know Snapchat can be used for NSFW purposes, but the number of people who actually send adult messages to other users is actually quite small. In such cases, don’t be shocked if recipients block you.

If you don’t use Snapchat that way, there’s a chance it was a mistake, especially if you’re on good terms with the person who blocked you. If you have other contact information, get in touch there—because Snapchat won’t let you talk to them on its platform.

Another possibility is that they’re “ghosting” you. It’s a horrible prospect, but if they’re the type of person who does that, they don’t deserve to be in your life anyway.

Is Snapchat Right for You?

It’s only natural to feel hurt if you’ve been blocked or removed by someone you thought was a good friend. However, it isn’t the end of the world. If it’s seriously affected you, ask yourself: is Snapchat right for you?

Snapchat is all about making connections and building friendships. It’s about getting to know people on a day-to-day basis. But like all social networks, it’s not worth getting upset about.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button