Apple

How to Stop People Notifying You in Do Not Disturb Mode

Apple’s Focus feature tells other iPhone users when you’re using Do Not Disturb mode, giving them the option to notify you anyway.

Do Not Disturb is a helpful feature on an iPhone or iPad. When activated, your iPhone won’t notify you of calls, texts, or any other alerts. It’s perfect for sleeping, going to movie theaters, driving, working, and so much more.

However, since the release of iOS 15, other iPhone users have had the option to “Notify Anyway” when you’re using Do Not Disturb mode if they text you using iMessage. For some, this is helpful, as you can learn if something important is happening. For others, it might be annoying to receive messages even when you’re busy.

If you’re looking to turn this feature off and ensure no one can contact you while you’re using Do Not Disturb mode, this tutorial will show you how.

Step 1. Open Your Focus Settings

To turn this feature off, you’ll first need to head to Settings > Focus. The Focus feature controls your Do Not Disturb settings—including your custom settings for sleep and work. You can also set it up to activate Do Not Disturb mode when you’re driving.

Here, you can edit each setting individually. You can also set up each mode if you haven’t yet.

Step 2. Turn Off Focus Status

Once you see all your Focus modes, tap on your desired setting and scroll down to Focus Status. Focus Status is what alerts other iPhone users that you have notifications silenced, giving them the option to notify you anyway.

MAKEUSEOF VIDEO OF THE DAY

To turn Focus Status off, just toggle the setting. Once this is off, other iPhone users will no longer know if you have notifications silenced. And they won’t have the option to notify you despite using Do Not Disturb mode.

Should You Turn Off Your Focus Status?

If you turn on Do Not Disturb mode when you’re busy, it most likely means that you don’t want notifications. With iPhone users being able to notify you anyway, you can get distracted or even get woken up if you’re sleeping. This feature is helpful if there’s an emergency, but some people might abuse this feature. If you’re worried about this happening, it’s safe to turn it off.

In case of emergencies, you can always allow notifications from certain people, even if you have Focus Status off. This allows you to block everyone except people you trust. That way, you won’t miss something important and still stay free from distractions.




Apple Focus Mode

Set Up These 6 Focus Modes to Make the Most of iOS 15

Read Next



About The Author

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button